Monday, September 20, 2021

Music: Deverangwena back with new GZU collabo


Stephen Ephraem

Zimbabwe University (GZU) has scored a first by producing a music album with veteran
artist Jonah Moyo and Devera Ngwena Jazz Band in Masvingo. The six track album titled
Zimba reMabwe Devera Ngwena Vol 41 is due for release any time from now.

The new
offering has six tracks named Great Zimbabwe, Owami Sikhulile, Kumusha
Kwedu, Pedu paGZU, Corona and Mucha.

The bass
line and brass fusion on the album has brought new flavour to Devera Ngwena beat
affectionately known as Tsava Tsava.

On the project,
Jonah Moyo who is now a Great Zimbabwe University (GZU) staff member, is on lead
guitar, rhythm guitar and lead vocals. Cephus Mabara takes bass and second
rhythm guitar while Simba Paridzira plays drums on two songs.

A member
of the original Devera Ngwena in the late 1970s, Johnsai Machinya is on vocal
with two GZU students Lonely Kambewa and Sarudzai Chipinda. Brass instruments are
done by GZU staff Alois Maluleke and Fanwell Dzinduwa.

Moyo, who
composed, arranged and produced all songs, told TellZim News that he was glad
with the opportunity that the university gave him.

“I am
now working at Great Zimbabwe University so the authority approved my students
and workmates to be part of Devera Ngwena Vol 41. We are planning to launch the
album at a date to be advised,” said Jonah Moyo.

“We shall
produce videos of the album after its launch. I urge fans to help us celebrate
the offering which I am sure will taste like milk and honey,” said Moyo.

Moyo’s music career goes back over 40 years and during his peak, he toured countries
like Belgium, United Kingdom, Holland and Germany.

Ngwena was formed at Gaths Mine in Mashava when Moyo responded to an advert by
the mine to have a band in 1977. The band had their first single named “Devera
Ngwena Zhimozhi” released in 1979.

hits like Barbra, Marondera, Solo naMutsai, Grema wepamoyo, Fundisa Umlomo
wakho, Wangu P, Too Cheap, Svika Fair Fair and others followed.

original members who recorded Devera Ngwena Volume 1 were Moyo on lead guitar,
the late Robson Banda on bass, Innocent Bitu on rhythm, the late Patrick
Kabanda on drums and Johnsai Machinya on vocals.

Robson Banda left Devera Ngwena, he was replaced by a man called Vhizhayi who
also left before the late Jabulani Bitu joined them on rhythm on Volume 2.

TellZim News is the leading news organization in the Southern region. It provides candid, balanced and timely news from the communities. Keeping it real. Committed to tell Zimbabwe.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles