Monday, June 27, 2022

ZEC releases Chipinge Ward 16 by-election nomination court results

Faith Duri

Electoral management body, Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) on June 14 released the nomination court results for Chipinge West Rural District Council Ward 16 by-elections set for July 23, 2022.
The court sat on June 10, 2022.
According to information posted on ZEC official Twitter page by ZEC Chief Elections Officer Utoile Silaigwana, the Chipinge by-election was necessitated by the suspension of the incumbent councillor.
Four candidates successfully filed their papers to battle it out in the polls.
Gladys Muposhi (49) will represent Zanu PF, Zachariah Sigauke (44) for Patriotic Zimbabweans while Rephias Sithole (52) represents the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) and Marian Remeredzai Ziki (45) will stand for the National Constitution Assembly (NCA).
The Movement for Democratic Change Alliance (MDC Alliance) led by Douglas Mwonzora which has on record been recalling several councillors for showing allegiance to rival CCC leader Nelson Chamisa however chickened out once more after resolving not to contest any by-elections saying it would only contest in the 2023 general elections.
The party failed to register a single win in the just ended March 26 by-elections and now the major fight is between ZANU PF and CCC.
Mwonzora in 2021 once recalled four Chipinge councillors namely Zivanai Nyakuchena (ward 1), Sara Marwa Sithole (ward 2), Raina Madenyika (ward 4) and Chrispen Rambu (ward (8) for being loyal to Chamisa.

Lastest Articles

Related Articles